Teaching Continuity at Caltech  /  Tech & Tools  /  Zoom Video Conferencing  /  Host Controls in a Meeting

Host Controls in a Meeting

Tool Bar Icons and Features from Left to Right

Zoom Host Controls

Mute or unmute your microphone

Stop or Start your video feed

The Security host control was added on one of the latest Zoom updates. It provides shortcuts to:

  • Lock Meeting: Prevent new participants from joining the meeting, even if they have the meeting details.
  • Enable Waiting Room: If enabled, new participants will be placed in the waiting room until you all them to join the meeting.
  • Share Screen: enable/disable participants from sharing their screen.
  • Chat: enable/disable participants to use the Chat feature.
  • Rename Themselves: allow/disallow participants from changing their display name for the meeting.

Manage or view a list of meeting participants with a pop-up screen

Zoom Participant Options

  • Invite: invite participants to join the meeting.
  • Chat: Open the chat window to send messages directly to the panelist.
  • Stop Video: Stop the participant's video stream so they are unable to start their video. If the participant hasn't started their video, you will see the Ask to Start Video option.
  • Make Host (only available to the host): Assign the attendee to be the host. There can only be one host.
  • Allow Record (only available to the host): Allow the attendee to start or stop a local recording of the meeting.
  • Assign to type Closed Caption (only available to the host): Assign the attendee to type closed caption during the meeting.
  • Rename: Change the attendee name that is displayed to other participants. This change only applies to the current meeting. Note: To change your own name that is displayed, hover over your name in the participants list and click Rename.
  • Put in Waiting Room: Place the attendee in a virtual waiting room while you prepare for the meeting. The host must enable waiting room for this option to appear.
  • Put On Hold: If the waiting room is not enabled, you'll see this option to place the attendee on hold.
  • Remove: Dismiss a participant from the meeting. They won't be able to rejoin unless you allow participants and panelists to rejoin.

Open the Chat window for a popup screen that displays messages from participants

  • Share your screen with participants, options:
    • How many participants can share at the same time?
      • One participant can share at a time
      • Multiple participants can share simultaneously (dual monitors recommended)
    • Who can share?
      • Only Host
      • All Participants
    • Who can start sharing when someone else is sharing?
      • Only Host
      • All Participants

For best stability, it is recommended to record the meeting to your computer. You can then upload the recording to Box and share the link with students via your usual course communications or website.

allow you to split your Zoom meeting in up to 50 separate sessions

End or Leave the meeting. You may also close the computer to screen to end the session.